VIOLENTANGO

A revolutionary new concept for tango arrives this summer with the sensational new act from Buenos Aires. VIOLENTANGO are a five-piece instrumental band from Argentina currently taking South America by storm with an exciting rock-influenced tango defining a revolutionary new chapter for contemporary tango music.

A new album “Escape” will be presented on a forthcoming U.K Tour. This fifth independent album commands a definitive release from the constraints of conventional tango music, revealing an exciting outlet of expression and the liberation of an alternative form. This discovery of innovative arrangements proclaims the emergence of a new genre. Recorded at ION, the premier studio of Buenos Aires, Produced by Jorge “Portuguese” Da Silva.

Since their last visit to the UK performing at The Band Stand at Glastonbury Festival in 2011, Violentango has enjoyed a massive surge in popularity upon their return home to Argentina and suddenly find themselves sharing the stages with Buena Vista Social Club, Gilberto Gil, Chris Porter, Os Mutantes and Roy Hargrove. This revolutionary sound is becoming a sensation and hailed as the first Argentinean “modern tango” group, declared as of ‘significant cultural interest’ by the Ministry of Culture in Argentina, Violentango currently performs for audiences of 20,000 people in South America.

UK TOUR DATES 2013

CHAPEL ARTS, BATH – Friday 14th June

THE PRINCE ALBERT Stroud – Saturday 15th June

HOOTANANNY’S Rootmaster, Brixton – Sunday 16th June

THE BEEHIVE Swindon – Thursday 20th June

SALISBURY – Friday 21st June

Art Centre supporting Alejandro & The Magic Tombolinos

THE VAULTS Cirencester – Saturday 22nd June

GLASTONBURY FESTIVAL – from Wednesday 26th June

The Band Stand, The Rabbit Hole

THE ASSEMBLY ROOMS PRESTEIGN, WALES – Wednesday 3rd July

WINCHESTER HAT FAIR – Saturday 6th July

KEYNSHAM MUSIC FESTIVAL – Sunday 7th July

THE CANTEEN, BRISTOL – Thursday 11th June

CARDIFF OVAL BASIN – Friday 12th July

THE FULL MOON, CARDIFF – Saturday 13th July

THE BELL INN, BATH – Sunday 14th July

THE TOBACCO FACTORY, BRISTOL – Sunday 14th July

ARGENTINE EMBASSY – Wednesday 17th July

COLSTON HALL FOYER, BRISTOL – Thursday 18th July

RICH MIX, MOVIMIENTOS LONDON – Thursday 25th July

NEGRACHA TANGO, LONDON – Friday 26th July

BRISTOL HARBOURSIDE FESTIVAL – Saturday 27th July

THE THREE HORSE SHOES Bradford On Avon – 28th July

FOR MORE DETAILS: violentango.com

Mathew Hamilton Green. Videographer, writer, wry smiled smirker.

Comments are closed.